CME on Advancing Geriatrics Concluded

KMCT Medical College’s dept. of community medicines organized a CME on Advancing Geriatrics: Healthy ageing in the Changing World, on Nov 13, 2017. Over 200 delegates from different parts of the country took part in the program.
Dr. Anand T Pawar, Professor – Dept of Community Medicine, delivered the welcome speech. Dr KP Krsihnadas Menon, Former Professor & HoD- Govt. Medical College Calicut, inaugurated the program at KMCT Medical College seminar hall. Dr Lathi Nair- Principal- KMCT Medical College- presided over the event.
Dr Navas, CEO and Executive Trustee- KMCT Group of Institutions and Dr. KC Rajagopal, Former Professor & HoD- Govt. Medical College Calicut, jointly distributed “Dr Sushila Karunakaran memorial award for best scientific paper – public health” to Dr. Anu Elizabeth(Govt Medical College Calicut).
The CME saw expert sessions based on the theme-Ageing- Health issues and Prevention. Eminent national faculty (both for clinical practice and research) led the sessions.
Dr. Asma Rahim, HoD Community Medicine, GMC, Manjery, spoke on Agesim in India: Today and Tomorrow. A talk on Health Dimensions of the Elderly was delivered by Dr. Vijayakumar K, Former HoD Community Medicine- GMC Trivandrum.
Dr Prabha Adhikari, HoD Medicine- Yenepoya Medical College Mangalore, spoke on the topic Comprehensive Geriatric assessment in elderly using WHO Kit & Demonstration of the software. A session on Ageing Gracefully: Old and New approaches to manage Health Problems of Elderly was led by Dr. PK Sasidharan, Former HoD, Dept of Medicine-GMC Calicut.
Topic on Improving Quality of Life of Elderly- Social Welfare Scheme and Services of Elderly was discussed by Dr Priya Chnadran, Asso. Prof- Community Medicine- TDMC Alappuzha. Dr. Shaik Uberdulla, Asso. Professor- Pharmacology- KMCT Medical College, spoke on Polypharmacy in Elderly.
A speech on Role of Ayurveda in Health of Elderly was delivered by Dr. Finbe Baby, Vice Principal- KMCT Ayurveda College. Poster presentations for Post graduate students were also held. The program was concluded with the vote of thanks delivered by Dr. Hassan Koya.